Register
Search
Your basket:   Empty

White-headed Duck

The White-headed Duck (Oxyura leucocephala) is a small duck that inhabits fresh-water and brackish water bodies of the steppes and semi-deserts in Eurasia and North Africa. The duck can easily be recognised by its nose with a “hump”, white head and tail that points upward when the bird is on water.White-headed Ducks spend their whole lives on water and come out onto the banks extremely rarely. When in danger, the duck dives deep so that only its back is showing on the surface. These ducks are very good divers and can swim under water as long as 30 – 40m. This species mostly feeds at night by diving to different depths. They feed on molluscs, water insects and their larvae, worms, crustaceans, leaves, and the seeds of water plants.

At the beginning of the 20th century the numbers of this species fell sharply and the reasons for that still remain unclear. The White-headed Duck went completely extinct in Italy, France, Albania, Yugoslavia, Greece, Israel and Egypt. The world population of the White-headed Duck is 8,000 – 13,000 birds (Li, Mundkur 2003). The majority of the Central Asian migrating population nests in Kazakhstan.

The White-headed Duck is included in the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species and the Red Book of Kazakhstan (category 1 – threatened with extinction). However, in order to take practical measures to protect the White-headed Duck, we need to know more about its biology, range and the threats it faces in key areas of its habitat range.

Because the White-headed Duck is such an easily recognisable bird, its image features on the logo of ACBK.


ACBK’s studies of the White-headed Duck

Monitoring numbers.As part of the project “Monitoring key habitat areas of the White-headed Duck in Kazakhstan” being carried out with the support of CLP (Conservation Leadership Programme), specialists from ACBK are monitoring population numbers of the White-headed Duck in two key provinces for nesting in Kazakhstan: on the Tengiz-Korgalzhym Lake System and in the Kostanay Province. The project area encompasses 21 out of 121 of Kazakhstan’s IBAs (Important Bird Areas), most of which have not been given a protection status, and in addition includes three territories with a special protection status: Korgalzhyn State Nature Reserve, Naurzum Nature Reserve and Tounsor Protected Area. Monitoring spans across the nesting, post-nesting season and the period before migration, which the birds spend in Kazakhstan.

Studying the White-headed Duck’s ecology.In 2013, 45 lakes within the project area were described where a sighting of the White-headed Duck was recorded at one point or another. Hydro-biological samples were taken for analysis from four typical areas where White-headed Ducks nest. In order to figure out the criteria used by the duck when choosing and using its habitat, we are compiling a detailed description that includes:

 

 - Size of the water body - The extent of human impact
 - Depth - The presence and character of tributaries
 - Degree of water transparency - Growth stage and species composition
 - Salinity - A selection of plankton and benthos samples
  - The characteristics of the banks

To have the most reliable results, it is necessary to monitor the habitat areas over a long period of time.

Pinpointing threats.The main threats faced by the White-headed Duck in Kazakhstan is habitat loss caused by different factors (disruption of the natural hydrological regime, irrational use of water resources, climate change, etc.) and direct human impact (disturbance, death in fish nets, illegal shooting, etc.).

In order to evaluate the degree of the threat of direct human impact, the locals, users of the natural resources, will be asked to complete questionnaires. 

In order to uncover the threats related to the state of the habitat, we need to monitor it on a long-term basis. In 2013, a pilot area was monitored. This gives us the chance to later on analyse the changes in its state and the effects on White-headed Duck numbers and their nesting success.

Raising awareness.In order to raise awareness among the local population about the protection status of the White-headed Duck we are planning to carry out an awareness campaign. Literature will be distributed amongst the users of natural resources within White-headed Duck’s nesting and migration ranges in Kazakhstan. The information will be available on the ACBK website and in the ACBK offices in Almaty and Astana.

The project is carried out with financial support from the Conservation Leadership Programme and the Ornithological Society of the Middle East, the Caucasus and Central Asia (OSME).


Назад

Поиск
Ваша корзина:   пуста

Савка

 

Савка (Oxyura leucocephala) – небольшая утка, обитающая на пресных и солоноватых водоемах степей и полупустынь Евразии и Северной Африки. Самца савки в брачный период безошибочно можно определить по белой голове с небольшой черной шапочкой, голубому «вздутому» клюву и поставленным вертикально вверх жестким хвостовым перьям. Вся жизнь савки проходит на воде, она крайне редко выходит на сушу. При опасности эта утка погружается очень глубоко в воду, так что из воды торчит только верх спины. Савка отлично ныряет, проплывая под водой 30-40 м. Кормится савка преимущественно по ночам, ныряя на различную глубину. Питается эта утка моллюсками, водными насекомыми и их личинками, червями, ракообразными, листьями и семенами водных растений.

В начале ХХ века общая численность этого вида резко сократилась, и причины этому остаются до конца невыясненными. Савка полностью исчезла с территории Италии, Франции, Албании, Югославии, Греции, Израиля и Египта. Мировая популяция савки составляет 7500–15900 птиц (Birdlife International, 2015). В Казахстане гнездится большая часть перелетной среднеазиатской популяции савки.

Савка занесена в Красный список редких и исчезающих животных МСОП, в Красную книгу Казахстана (категория 1 – под угрозой исчезновения). Но для разработки конкретных мер по сохранению савки необходимо больше информации о биологии, распространении и угрозах этому виду в ключевых регионах местообитания.

Образ савки, как одной из самых редких и легко узнаваемых птиц, изображен на логотипе АСБК.


Работа по изучению савки в АСБК

Мониторинг численности. В рамках проекта «Мониторинг ключевых местообитаний савки в Казахстане», выполняемого при поддержке CLP(Conservation Leadership Programme), специалистами АСБК проводится мониторинг численности савки в двух ключевых районах ее гнездования в Казахстане: на Тенгиз-Кургальджинской системе озер и в Костанайской области. Проектная территория охватывает 21 из 121 IBA(ключевых орнитологических территорий)  Казахстана, большинство из которых не имеют охранного статуса, а также три особо охраняемых территории – Коргалжынский заповедник, Наурзумский заповедник и Тоунсорский заказник. Мониторинг охватывает гнездовой, послегнездовой и предмиграционный периоды, который птицы проводят на территории Казахстана.

Изучение экологии савки. В 2013 году было описано более 45 озер в пределах проектной территории, где когда-либо была отмечена савка. С четырех типичных гнездовых местообитаний савки были отобраны пробы для гидробиологического анализа. Для выяснения критериев выбора и использования савкой местообитаний проводится подробное описание,  которое включает в себя:

 - Размер водоема - Степень антропогенного воздействия
 - Глубину - Наличие и характеристики притоков
 - Прозрачность воды - Степень развития водной растительности и ее видовой состав
 - Соленость - Отбор проб планктона и бентоса
  - Характеристику береговой линии

Для получения наиболее достоверных результатов необходимо проведение долгосрочного мониторинга данных местообитаний.

Выявление угроз. Основными угрозами для популяции савки в Казахстане являются потеря местообитаний по различным причинам (нарушение естественного гидрорежима, нерациональное водопользование, изменение климата и др.) и прямое антропогенное воздействие (фактор беспокойства, гибель в рыболовных сетях, незаконный отстрел и др.).

Для оценки прямого антропогенного воздействия будет проводиться анкетирование среди местных природопользователей, на основе которого можно будет судить о степени данной угрозы.

Для выявления угроз, связанных с состоянием местообитания, необходим их долгосрочный мониторинг. В 2013 году были сделаны подробные описания местообитаний на пилотной территории. Это дает возможность в будущем провести анализ изменения состояния и влияние на численность и успешность гнездования савки в пределах этих местообитаний.

Информационная кампания. Для информирования населения о природоохранном статусе савки в 2013-2014 годах планируется проведение информационной кампании. Материалы будут распространяться среди природопользователей в пределах гнездового и миграционного ареала савки в Казахстане. Ознакомиться с материалами и получить их можно будет на сайте АСБК и в офисах г. Алматы и Астаны.

Проект выполняется при финансовой поддержке Программы по поддержке лидерства в области охраны природы (Conservation Leadership Program, CLP) и Орнитологического общества Среднего Востока, Кавказа и Центральной Азии (Ornithological Society of the Middle East, the Caucasus and Central Asia, OSME).

 

Узнать, что нового в АСБК >>>


Назад